Back at home

Unsurprisingly being back at home brings up a lot of gender feelings. Even if I didn't have to do a lot of last minute “coming out” it's still where my gender was minted. A lot of people remember me a different way.

My parents have been mostly okay. They get my name wrong a lot, pronouns they slip up and notice but don't really use they/them. It's going to take time.

I suppose the most hurtful thing was my mother got me a lot of coats—-womens coats. This is a pretty usual thing, I've never really been a fan. Never been one for clothes (though post NB I'm actually pretty into it) and these really obviously female coats were no exception. But that alone was fine, it's just when I told her I don't really wear women's clothes anymore, she didn't respond. Don't know if she didn't hear me. She didn't say anything at all.

I did get a chance to talk to her again about not wearing women's clothes the next day, and she didn't ignore me. Made me feel a lot better. I hope that it sticks.